Love and Being in Love?

I recently read somewhere, “I loved him, but I was not in love with him,” on which a friend of mine said that it’s like “I ate food but the food didn’t go through my oesophagus.” Keeping genders and the fact that it was meant to be a light-hearted joke aside, my friend’s statement resembles what would come to my mind.

Love, by nature, is complex. Emotions are hard to understand with logic. But when I think, love can be in various forms. When two people love each other, their perceptions of the love for the other person can be different.

So may be, she loved him, just not as a partner, as her better-half. Or may be, she loved him, but could not be with him or did not want to. Yes, it is understandable. And like I said, it is not gender specific. I have heard it numerous times from both ends.

But think. Is that the best way to put it? I am, myself, not very good at putting my thoughts into words, but I do try not to make it complicated. What do you think?

9 Comments

  1. I think the word “love” has been thrown around many times so much so that the real meaning behind the word is forgotten. I associate love with unconditional love and everything else is just your body talking 😂.

    Like

      1. You don’t say conditions apply but there are always conditions attached to most of the love you feel. By Unconditional love I mean a mother’s love. Nothing can be stronger than that. Not being stereotypical but I feel it every single day of my life (starting from a recent past :p)

        Like

    1. Well, yes. Thanks. And about her comment above, there are some things, but I’ll not be one to start the long, seemingly endless, discussion. Emotions are hard to ‘understand’.

      Liked by 1 person

Got something to say? Feel free! Just don't be too harsh.

