Learning Norwegian

“Jeg lærer Norsk, og jeg elsker det.” I am learning Norwegian and I love it.

Norway is a place I’d like to live in, for some time at least, and one of the places I’d like to visit. So I started watching some videos on YouTube about Norway. My interest was on the rise, and I decided to learn the language.

I installed Duolingo. It is a nice app for learning new languages. It is available on the web and as an app for smartphones. I also watch one or two videos on YouTube every day, and have followed some Norwegian vloggers and bloggers as well.

It’s been a few days and I’ve only learned a few words. It’d have been great if I could talk to someone as well. While I can understand a few words, when spoken slowly, I am not at all good at speaking any of them. But one step at a time, as there is a long way to go.

I am learning Bokmål (literally, Book Tongue), which is one of the two official written standards for the Norwegian language. The other one is Nynorsk (literally, New Norwegian).

Learning a new language in general is a good hobby to have, when taking a break from everyday stuff, I think. From my short experience, I can say that it is stimulating to the brain, it is fun, and it keeps boredom away.

What about you? And any tips you may have?

6 thoughts on “Learning Norwegian”

  1. Love it! I’m inspired to relearn Japanese from the sense of adventure you have appeased within myself. This way I won’t be totally confused if I ever go back to Japan.

    Also if this double posts with a slight different post. Apologies in advance. WordPress was saying it didn’t send comments. Then suddenly they are there.

    Cheers! ^_^

    Like

    1. That’s good to know.

      Double posting happens sometimes (not this time though). Don’t worry about it. Even if it does, I’m here to moderate the duplicate ones.

      And thank you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love learning new languages! I’ve had an eight year long relationship with French but we’re still not on the same wavelength. We’ll get there, though. 😅
    And looking at that, you seem off to a quite good start with Norwegian! Good luck and keep persevering! 😊

    Like

    1. Eight years with French! That’s awesome. 🙂

      And as always, Thank you. For some reason I feel awesome about learning Norwegian. I wonder what could it be. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yup, we broke up in the middle, though but we’re back together again. 😛
        I understand! Learning something new gives you a sense of achievement and something to look forward to. 🙂

        Like

Got something to say? Feel free! Just don't be too harsh.

